Skip to Page Content

About Us

    SCVEA Mission

    Inspiring and engaging the St. Croix Valley employer community through human capital development and strategic partnerships.

    SCVEA Vision

    Building a better employer community in the St. Croix Valley.

    The St. Croix Valley Employers Association (SCVEA) was formed in 1979 by a small group of business leaders. The first meeting was held in February, 1980, and was attended by 42 representatives from 28 firms.  SCVEA is an affiliate of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM). 

    The origin of the SCVEA grew out of a perceived need to develop a collection vehicle for salary information, data that would help inform local employers with regard to prevailing wage rates for a variety of job classifications. That remains a key focus for many Members. For others, the networking opportunities and/or the training on human resource-related issues are of greater appeal. Regardless, our Members share the common philosophy that the existence of the Association provides a tangible benefit regarding the HR side of businesses in the St. Croix valley.

    SCVEA hosts programs which address HR-related issues identified by members as deserving attention. Topics include such areas of interest as:

    • Labor law
    • Employment interviewing
    • New supervisor training
    • Customer service
    • Labor force projections and related solutions
    • Employee retention 

     

    Meet Our Officers

     

    President

    Jill Gorres, REBC, RHU, SHRM-SCP
    jgorres@jacounter.com
    JA Counter
    New Richmond, WI
    715-246-8062

    President-Elect

    Nicki O'Connell

    Russ Davis Wholesale

    Hammond, WI

    nicki.oconnelll@russdaviswholesale.com

    715-796-4602

     

    Secretary and SHRM Foundation Director
    Trish Norman

    VIRTEX
    Menomonee Falls, WI

    hr@mtielectronics.com
    262-783-6080 x105

     

    Treasurer
    Kathy Vande Berg
    First Bank of Baldwin
    Baldwin, WI
    k.vandeberg@firstbankbaldwin.com
    715-688-7212

     

    Meet Our Board of Directors

     

    Program Chair
    Nicole Butz 
    Acolad
    River Falls, WI

    Nicole.butz@amplexor.com
    715-426-9505 ext.158

     

    Marketing Director

    Katelyn Ziegler

    Specialty Coating Systems

    Clear Lake, WI

    kziegler@scscoatings.com

    715-263-2333

     

    Marketing Director

    Kaydi Sobottka

    First National Bank of River Falls

    River Falls, WI

    ksobottka@fnbrf.com

    715-425-2401

     

    Marketing Director

    Seri Liggett

    Anchor Paper Co.

    River Falls, WI

    sliggett@anchorpaper.com

    715-629-7277

     

    Membership Director
    Bryan Symes

    vonBriesen & Roper, S.C.

    Eau Claire, WI

    bsymes@vonbriesen.com
    715-214-1809

     

    Membership Director

    Nathan Schoone

    Westfields Hospital & Clinic

    New Richmond, WI   

    Nathan.T.Schoone@WestfieldsHospital.com

    715-243-2600

     

    Membership Director
    Nathan Schoone

    Westfields Hospital & Clinic
    New Richmond, WI  54017
    Nathan.T.Schoone@WestfieldsHospital.com

    Membership Director

    Abby Klatt

    OEM Fabricators

    Woodville, WI  

    aklatt@oemfab.com

    715-716-3227

     

    Certification Director 

    Kristen Novak
    Hudson Hospital & Clinic
    Kristen.R.Novak@HudsonHospital.org
    715-531-6054            

    College Relations Director
    Liz Pizzi
    Northwood Technical College

    New Richmond, WI
    liz.pizzi@northwoodtech.edu
    715-246-6561 x4376

     

    Diversity Director
    Mary Johnson

    Total Tool Supply, Inc

    St. Paul, MN
    mary.johnson@totaltool.com

    800-444-4899